Is Texting and Driving Illegal In Missouri?
Accident & Injury Car Accident Accident & Injury
Summary: In Missouri, texting and driving is illegal for drivers under 21 years of age. However, as of now, it is only illegal for drivers 21 years of age or younger.
Texting and driving is one of the most rapidly increasing causes of accidents. Every year, texting and driving causes more and more serious car crashes. In the 18-20 age bracket, 11% of drivers in accidents admitted they were texting at the teme. However, it’s not just a problem affecting younger drivers. 73% of all cell phone owners have admitted they text and drive. However, is texting and driving illegal in Missouri?
Texting and Driving in Missouri is Illegal For Those Under 21
In Missouri, texting and driving is illegal for drivers under 21 years of age. However, as of now, it is only illegal for drivers 21 years of age or younger. Many states have universal texting and driving bans, but Missouri is one of the only states that still does not. Teens are more likely to text and drive than older drivers, and younger drivers are more likely to get into car accidents regardless. However, texting and driving is hazardous even for drivers over 21.
Texting and Distracted Driving
Texting is one of many activities that may qualify as distracted driving. Distracted driving is a cause of many accidents every year. However, there are only a few laws related to distracted driving in Missouri. As we covered, drivers under the age of 21 are prohibited from texting and driving. Additionally, commercial drivers are prohibited from texting or using handheld cell phones (except in certain circumstances).
Distracted Driving in Missouri
Distracted driving is hazardous, even if there are relatively few laws covering it in Missouri. Distracted driving can take on many forms, including changing the radio, eating, talking, or texting. Most distracted driving incidents come in three ways:
Manual: Taking your hands off a wheel for whatever reason. Example: reaching for something in your glove compartment.
Visual: Taking your eyes off the road. If you are distracted by another driver or something in the car (like your phone), this would be a visually distracted driving incident.
Cognitive: Taking your mind off of driving and losing focus. If you are sleepy or arguing with a passenger, you could be distracted.
These are the main types of distracted driving.
Consequences of Distracted Driving
If you are found guilty of distracted driving, you may have to pay a $200 fine and incur points on your driver’s license. However, as established, the are generally only two laws regarding distracted driving are 1) drivers under 21 cannot text and drive and 2) drivers of commercial vehicles cannot use handheld cell phones.
An Attorney Can Help
If you are involved in a legal case involving texting and driving, or you were hit by a driver who was texting, an experienced St. Louis car accident attorney can help ensure that your legal rights are protected and fight for the compensation you are legally entitled to. Call The Hoffmann Law Firm, L.L.C. 24/7 at (314) 361-4242 for a FREE case evaluation.
Legal Articles Additional Disclaimer