Brain Injury at Work in Virginia

by Jerry Lutkenhaus on Apr. 10, 2014

Employment Workers' Compensation Accident & Injury  Slip & Fall Accident 

Summary: What happens if your suffer a brain injury at work in Virginia?

The worker has an injury at work and unfortunately suffers an injury to his brain.

In Virginia the worker can obtain payment for lost wages and medical expenses if the injury keeps him or her from doing his/her pre-injury work.

The usual limit for wage loss in Virginia for a work injury is 500 weeks.

One exception to the 500 week limit in Virginia is for a brain injury.

However, in order to go beyond 500 weeks, the injured worker does have to show the brain injury renders the worker unemployable.

There is no time limit on medical care. The medical care is for the worker's life.

But one who suffers a brain injury should definitely consult an experienced workers' compensation lawyer.

Legal Articles Additional Disclaimer

Lawyer.com is not a law firm and does not offer legal advice. Content posted on Lawyer.com is the sole responsibility of the person from whom such content originated and is not reviewed or commented on by Lawyer.com. The application of law to any set of facts is a highly specialized skill, practiced by lawyers and often dependent on jurisdiction. Content on the site of a legal nature may or may not be accurate for a particular state or jurisdiction and may largely depend on specific circumstances surrounding individual cases, which may or may not be consistent with your circumstances or may no longer be up-to-date to the extent that laws have changed since posting. Legal articles therefore are for review as general research and for use in helping to gauge a lawyer's expertise on a matter. If you are seeking specific legal advice, Lawyer.com recommends that you contact a lawyer to review your specific issues. See Lawyer.com's full Terms of Use for more information.